SpacerJudge L. Paige Marvel
Chambers Telephone Number: 202-521-0740

Judge. b. Maryland. Education: B.A., magna cum laude, 1971; College of Notre Dame, Baltimore, MD; J.D. with honors, University of Maryland School of Law, Baltimore, MD, 1974. Awarded Order of the Coif; Member, Maryland Law Review and Moot Court Board. Garbis & Schwait, P.A., associate 1974-76, and shareholder 1976-85; Garbis, Marvel & Junghans, P.A., shareholder 1985-86; Melnicove, Kaufman, Weiner, Smouse & Garbis, P.A., shareholder 1986-88; Venable, Baetjer & Howard L.L.P., partner, 1988-98. Member, American Bar Association, Section of Taxation, Vice-Chair, Committee Operations, 1993-95; Council Director, 1989-92; Chair, Court Procedure Committee, 1985-87; Maryland State Bar Association, Board of Governors, 1988-90, and 1996-98; Chair, Taxation Section, 1982-83; Federal Bar Association, Section of Taxation, Section Council, 1984-90. Fellow, American Bar Foundation; Fellow, Maryland Bar Foundation; Fellow and former Regent, 1996-98, American College of Tax Counsel; Member, American Law Institute; Advisor, ALI Restatement of Law Third-The Law Governing Lawyers 1988-1998; University of Maryland Law School Board of Visitors, 1995-2001; Loyola/Notre Dame Library, Inc. Board of Trustees, 1996-2003; Advisory Committee, University of Baltimore Graduate Tax Program, 1986-present; Co-editor, Procedure Department, The Journal of Taxation 1990-98. Member, Commissioner's Review Panel on IRS Integrity, 1989-91; Member and Chair, Procedure Subcommittee, Commission to Revise the Annotated Code of Maryland, (Tax Provisions), 1981-87; Member, Advisory Commission to the Maryland State Department of Economic and Community Development, 1978-81. Recipient of 1st Annual Tax Excellence Award, Maryland State Bar Assn. Tax Section, 2002; named one of Maryland's Top 100 Women for 1998; Recipient, ABA Tax Section's Distinguished Service Award, 1995; recipient, MSBA Distinguished Service Award, 1982-83. Listed in Best Lawyers in America, 1991-98. Author of various articles and book chapters on tax and tax litigation topics. Appointed by President Clinton as Judge, United States Tax Court, on April 6, 1998, for a term ending April 5, 2013. Reappointed by President Obama on December 3, 2014, for a term ending December 2, 2029.

Last updated: December 3, 2014